Weight Loss Surgery Centers of Excellence

Approved weight loss (bariatric) surgery is covered at facilities known for the quality care they provide

Harvard Pilgrim offers a Centers of Excellence program for members who have been approved to have weight loss surgery. The program is designed to ensure that members receive care that is focused on patient health and safety.

Approval to have weight loss surgery

Harvard Pilgrim has a bariatric surgery medical review process. This means that in order to be covered, your doctor must submit a request for surgery along with information about your medical history and condition and it must meet Harvard Pilgrim’s criteria for approval. Please note that a coverage decision is made within two business days of Harvard Pilgrim receiving all of the necessary information.

HMO members must receive approved surgeries at one of Harvard Pilgrim’s Weight Loss Surgery Centers of Excellence.

POS and PPO members who receive approved surgeries at one of Harvard Pilgrim’s Weight Loss Surgery Centers of Excellence will have lower cost-sharing.


Facilities that are designated as Harvard Pilgrim Centers of Excellence have met stringent quality criteria put in place by the Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery Accreditation and Quality Improvement Program (MBSAQIP), established by the American College of Surgeons and the American Society of Bariatric Surgery (ASBS). Facilities participating in Harvard Pilgrim Centers of Excellence must be accredited as a Comprehensive Center.

Review the criteria with your doctor.



  • Bristol Hospital
  • Danbury Hospital
  • Hartford Hospital
  • Middlesex Hospital
  • MidState Medical Center
  • Norwalk Hospital
  • Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center
  • St. Vincent's Medical Center
  • Yale-New Haven Hospital


  • Central Maine Medical Center
  • Eastern Maine Medical Center
  • Maine Medical Center
  • Southern Maine Medical Center


  • Baystate Medical Center
  • Berkshire Medical Center
  • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
  • Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital Milton
  • Brigham and Women's Hospital
  • Boston Medical Center
  • Brockton Hospital
  • Charlton Memorial Hospital
  • Emerson Hospital
  • Faulkner Hospital
  • Heywood Hospital
  • Holyoke Medical Center
  • Lahey Clinic Hospital
  • Lawrence General Hospital
  • Lawrence Memorial Hospital
  • Lowell General Hospital
  • Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Mercy Medical Center
  • MetroWest Medical Center - Leonard Morse Hospital
  • Milford Regional Medical Center
  • Mount Auburn Hospital
  • Newton Wellesley Hospital
  • North Shore Medical Center – Salem Hospital
  • Norwood Hospital
  • Saint Vincent Hospital
  • South Shore Hospital
  • St. Elizabeth's Medical Center
  • Tobey Hospital
  • Tufts Medical Center
  • UMass Memorial Medical Center – Memorial Campus
  • Winchester Hospital

New Hampshire

  • Catholic Medical Center
  • Elliot Hospital
  • Lakes Region General Hospital
  • Mary Hitchcock Memorial Hospital
  • Portsmouth Regional Hospital

Rhode Island

  • Miriam Hospital
  • Roger Williams Medical Center

Depending on your plan, some of these facilities may not be part of your Harvard Pilgrim provider network. Please check the provider directory to confirm whether a particular facility participates in your plan’s network by selecting your plan, then entering the name of the facility.